PPA Of Life! (I)

Posted on Updated on

As much as NYSC would like to occupy me and draw me away from doing this (my once in a while thing), so far I think it has been mission impossible! (Of course, the devil is a liar).

Many kudos to the Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM) for sending me out of the state capital, Lokoja, where there are several brands of stuffs to butter my bread, and then placing me in this place, where there are several other stuffs threatening to collect the bread and then pour sand-sand for my garri. If it was a person I know I would’ve been tempted to arrange for him (warri guys will understand better).

A few months ago I penned my experiences in the orientation camp. Before long, it came to an end. I was posted to my place of primary assignment (PPA); Tescom, Lokoja. I was happy for I believed I’ll have more access to infrastructures, avenues for professional advancement, job opportunities (for my mind)…I had no idea they have no interest in my visions or expectations (perhaps they’ve been giving me the yinmu gesture all along).

So Tescom dealt me the joker (seriously e no fair). I’ve been re-posted to another local government (Mopamuro) to teach in a secondary school; Cruise Memorial College. Please don’t be deceived by the coolness of the name, judging a book by it’s cover is a terrible mistake; a big error 404.

I started consoling myself, nursing several thoughts. “Hian! Lokoja is even relatively expensive…things will be cheaper in a village/small town.” “The heat here is even too much.” (though not as hot as Sokoto which is said to be just #30 by bike to hell).

The human mind does this a lot, especially when one is moving from a supposed nice place to another place supposedly not so nice. I guess it tries to make you relax, get you focused on the benefits in the undesired place and then make you see the faults in the desired place so that the eventual transition will be smooth or less rough.

Left with no option, I packed my stuffs and embarked on the journey. Everything seems cool until realisation hit me, triggered by the “Welcome to Mopamoro” road side board (chai! I don’ enter am!). Mood swung…straight. Hunger came. A slight headache too. I understood what Genesis 1:2 says immediately; “Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness covered the surface of the watery depths….”

I feared more by the sights of the schools along the in-no-good-condition road leading to my destination. I started thinking; “What if Cruise is like these?” Another thought silenced the first, giving me confidence; Cruise sounds nice joor! Relax, cool down, get yourself together and cruise into the ‘tush’ Cruise (I later discovered that the second thought must have been from the devil, a terrible liar!).

Still alone in my thoughts, the driver brought me back to reality. Kópà, a ti dé bè o (corper, we are there), he said. I looked around, Cruise staring at me, probably saying “welcome bro” with some nasty evil grin. That strong nollywood action sound came to mind; GHEN-GHEN! Something like the traditional Igbo flute started playing in my head.

This is where the story began.

PPA of life (II) loading loaded.

Be social. Sharing is caring.
Adewoyin Joseph || @Jossef69

5 thoughts on “PPA Of Life! (I)

    koyegbeke said:
    May 29, 2013 at 7:05 am

    Continue na!!! 😦

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      July 4, 2014 at 8:36 am

      It took so long for this to fall in. . . apologies.

      Continue, I did. 🙂

      Thanks for reading.

      Like

    Bessie said:
    June 3, 2013 at 7:14 am

    Hehehehe…but so sorry about your predicament.

    Like

      Joseph responded:
      June 3, 2013 at 7:22 am

      Lol. Predicament well taken care of.

      Like

    victoroladosuu said:
    June 8, 2013 at 12:33 am

    Cofa joe,hmn…lol…but remember everything is in your mind 🙂
    very nice writing (Y)

    Like

Kindly Leave a Reply

