PPA Of Life! (II)

Aside Posted on Updated on

A continuation of the previous post “PPA of life! (I)” Please click here to read.

******

There’s no going back now! I just have to face this music (though it seems like a weird accapella). I remembered that part of the NYSC anthem that says “Youth obey the clarion call…” I frowned and asked myself; “Abeg who be this clarion sef? Is this where clarion lives?” This clarion actually should have called me to a nice office with other benefits.

I moved towards a structure that seemed more like an administrative building and in no time some corpers came to help me with my bags. I guess they spotted my Ajuwaya cap (NYSC cap) which must have broadcast my arrival…a message I don’t remember sending it. “Òtòndò le l’éyìí” (he’s a new corper) one said, thinking I don’t understand since I don’t really look like I’m yoruba to them.

Within a few minutes the principal came and welcomed me. No rejection! I’ve been fully accepted to deal with everything. A whooping sum of a thousand naira is due unto me monthly. Till now I still don’t understand what they want me to do with that. It was as if the school turned to a person, laughing out loud and making serious fun of me.

Of the truth, it’s not that the school is really local or so bad, but my expectations were far greater than what I met, considering that I just came from the state capital. Cruise is a medium-size school with some old structures, a large land area, lots of mango trees, and a mountain not far away.

I will be staying with a corper for a while (due to some lengthy reasons) though I was given my own apartment…sorry, scratch that…my own room. I appreciate that though, some don’t have that for free in their PPA (dear reader, I’m not implying it’s you *smiles*).

Later that day I asked the corpers I met how often they have power in the place and they all looked at one another, and then laughed; “Hahahahahha! Omo Èkó! (Lagos boy!). Power isn’t regular here o my brother.” That definitely would be the end to my starching! (ègé career gone down the drain *sad face*). But the question really is, where will I wear starched cloths to? (Town meeting maybe).

The bathroom is an outdoor one. The type that announces your intention to the world anytime you need to bathe. It makes me feel so open (since my head is always visible to the entire public) and vulnerable, as if there is a sniper aiming at my head from above the overlooking mountain (that’s what happens when you see so much films). The toilet? Em…errrm…erm *clears throat* I’m sure you can fill in the gap.

After a few days in “Mopa town”, I’ve already trekked half—okay, almost half—the whole place (the vicinity…not that walking around is my hobby). Mopa!!! The only place I know with sufficient arable land but with little farmers (they just don’t farm). Food isn’t so cheap and I really don’t like that (Before nko?). The place where a guy with a scooter is a big boy. The place where females ride bikes even more than males. The place where most people have their bathroom outside the main house (probably they don’t know it’s part of a house or they forgot).

Mopa!!! The place where a 16year old girl conveniently carries a load equivalent to what a 22year old lady should carry *clears throat* (NB: Don’t ask me what load means, a load is a load. I won’t explain further). The place where most parents prefer buying aso ebí (ceremonial dress) to paying the cheap, almost free school fees of their children (I mean the public schools).

Oops! I desperately need to find a place to charge this device now, several thanks to the constant power supply here.

That’s my PPA of life!

Be social.
Please comment and share.
Adewoyin Joseph || @Jossef69

5 thoughts on “PPA Of Life! (II)

    Adefiranye Razaq's notes said:
    June 2, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    I wish u a 1daful stay in mopa bro…and pls dnt increase der population illegaly!

    Like

      Joseph responded:
      June 3, 2013 at 6:28 am

      You must be referring to the ‘loads’ I mentioned. Sticking to seeing and observing. Not the next on agenda…besides, the cost of taking care of a lady (plus bele) is really exorbitant (Ask “Rufus”). Thanks.

      Like

    koyegbeke said:
    June 2, 2013 at 10:28 pm

    Pele ti e o!

    Like

    Tolulope said:
    June 3, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    lolzzz….really love ur story esp ur sarcastic remarks….corpers life shld be graded…..urs shld be around grade 3……some oda Corpers still envy ur condition

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      July 4, 2014 at 8:41 am

      You’re very right. Some would sacrifice a spotless bullock and a month’s allowee just to be there. 🙂

      Thanks for reading sir.

      Like

Kindly Leave a Reply

