Good To Go Corper

Posted on Updated on

It’s about an hour to the break of a new day
So early you’ll need the light to walk right
Curled in my bed fighting the cold, yet enjoying the sleep
I could hear movements and rumblings
It reminds me of my early rising uncle when he prepares for work
I know who it is but the ‘why’ eludes me
Not long he opened his door and motioned to the outdoor bathroom
This is quite unusual of him, considering he hates the cold with passion.
He began to bathe, singing as well in his croaked voice
Disturbing me the more

“I’m a good to go corper….”

My question has been answered!
Now I know the ‘why’ and I forgive him for disturbing my sleep
Passing out is today!
And he’s preparing to get to the state capital, anxious and anticipating
I don’t blame him, it’s a similar feeling I have on days important to me
The same feeling most of his mates are having at that moment

He hummed louder, switching between bass and tenor
The tenor sounded more like terror though
I smiled
He never told me he joined the choir, but he’s doing a good job despite the “very good” voice

It’s been 12months in a strange land
Months of dealing with unfriendly weather in most cases
Cold in his case, heat as hot as a furnace for others
Months of adjusting to cultural differences and language barriers
Endless working days of dealing with touchy and flammable bosses
Several weeks of community development; even if the community won’t reciprocate
Months of battling traffic for some, yearning to see civilization for others
Countless number of days of living, loving, surviving, understanding, reforming, contributing, accommodating….
They have done their part and for that I give them the first salute
Multiple hearty cheers too

“Hip-hip-hip…. Hurray!”

Against all odds, they are here
They have obeyed the clarion call
Now they are good to go.

Inspired by CMC Mopa Batch B Corpers.
Be social. Comment and share.
Adewoyin Joseph || @Jossef69

8 thoughts on “Good To Go Corper

    Adefiranye Razaq's notes said:
    June 6, 2013 at 7:26 am

    They are good 2 go…chaiii I go miss ds babe wey dey cook for me ☹. Jisike Sènor Joe

    Like

    koyegbeke said:
    June 6, 2013 at 7:52 am

    Nice. I like.

    Like

    arcbod said:
    June 6, 2013 at 10:33 am

    Hnmmmm joseph nice one, keep it up, am gonna miss My frds so very much

    Like

    Odeleye Imoleayo said:
    October 9, 2013 at 11:03 pm

    They are gud 2go. Can’t stop crying here cos am gonna miss dem like… ₪☺ more lovable room-mate 2cook for M̶̲̥̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ , arrange ma room n also, someone to gist with. Señor Joe, cnt stop crying here.

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      October 9, 2013 at 11:15 pm

      That’s the feeling, we only get emotional in different ways. I’m really gon’ miss some really very important persons. You’re warming up as well…make your mark and let others miss you more when you’re good to go 🙂

      Thanks ma’am.

      Like

Kindly Leave a Reply

