“Ara Orun”

Posted on Updated on

Not quite long I came across this picture and I thought of briefly dropping a comment or two.

You might be wondering what it was all about, believe me, I asked the same question myself.

I remember reading a thread on masquerades sometimes ago and I was able to get a few points in addition to what I understand them to be initially.

Masquerades have been in existence for a long time; lots of centuries maybe. They are said to be mystic in nature and also regarded as dead ancestors (hence, the name “Ara orun” as the Yorubas call it). It is upheld as a precious tradition that deserves respect, which must be preserved as gift from our forefathers.

Having said that, I was perplexed when a friend told me that a female corps member was beaten by a masquerade (probably aided by his followers) in a part of the country. The reason(s) for that act I don’t know, but really, is there supposed to be a reason to justify such an action? Is it right for our dead ancestors to beat up their own offspring?

I really appreciate the efforts of the police — this time at least — on the issue as a matter of fact (from the picture as well). As we all can see they have done a great job (holds laugh). To me, this is one picture I’d like to put in the category of favourites. Even after paying a few thousand naira as compensation by the town, thirty-solid-six lashes were also dashed to the said masquerade (that’s what I heard…don’t know if it’s on the bum or on the palm), a commensurate sanction if I may add.

I know I sound like a foreigner with little or no regards for culture and tradition right now (I’ll understand if you think that), I can only hope you get really flogged one very beautiful day (say en route to your sweetheart) and maybe — just maybe — you’ll share my view and perspective.

The question I’ll appreciate an answer to is this:

“Why should a custom and practice that is teemed with so much misconduct and irregularities be allowed to thrive so well?”

If I’ve asked wrongly I’ll say I stand to be corrected.

I won’t categorically say it should be abolished. I can’t. God knows I respect customs and traditions too; the stunts and dances especially thrill me. However, I can only advocate and solicit for a soft, smooth and nonsense-free modus operandi. That I can do. That I have done.

I don’t care if Ara orun joins the entertainment industry. There’s nothing bad if dead ancestors amuse their descendants, amass wealth and fame, or get several awards…so long we won’t be a casualty in any way.

I have no other thing to say…

…but as far as this picture is concerned, Ara Orun got served!

Be social. Please comment and share.
Adewoyin Joseph || @Jossef69

8 thoughts on ““Ara Orun”

    koyegbeke said:
    June 15, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    I remember when an ara-orun beats Kayode Abiola back in Wesley. It was a very sad sight. The wound festered for weeks!

    Like

    Adefiranye Razaq's notes said:
    June 15, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    You’ve asked a gud question bruv. We shouldn’t give way for such disgraceful display in d name of culture, in as much as we dnt wanna be found relegating our heritage. Our fore fathers had a sound character base to properly operate these culture of ours, but sadly, we are not fit to do so. This particular scenario is a good riddance to such bad rubbish! God bless Nigeria.

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      June 16, 2013 at 11:27 am

      Of course. Now it’s an avenue to exploit, steal and punish people they have issues with. God bless.

      Like

    Yemie said:
    May 14, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    LMAO@ Ara Orun got served! You’re a mean one Senor Joe but you’re so spot on! All these traditions and culture things have been over-ridden and taken over by fraudsters and miscreants. The pioneers of these practices will shed blood if they were alive to see this ‘affront’. A gross misconduct! People used to be in awe of these masquerades back in the days of old but nowadays, its sob stories like this one that we’re saddled with. And for Ara Orun dearest, this is a lesson learnt the hard way!

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      May 14, 2014 at 7:54 pm

      LOL. Wouldn’t have been that harsh, but it could be my a*s one other blogger would be writing about in the future, with something like “Flogged To Stupor: A Tale Of One Masquerade And One Victim” as the title. We don’t want that.

      Nowadays, masquerading is an avenue to do lots of bad things: to beat that fine girl who wouldn’t let them have their way with her “resources” a week before; to pick pockets and make things disappear; to flog pedestrians senseless; to gather money and arrange drinks for the boys in the evening. . . it goes on.

      I hope erring ones keep getting lessons. With this your “Ara Orun dearest”, I’m beginning to suspect you. 🙂

      Like

        Yemie said:
        May 14, 2014 at 8:25 pm

        Lets just say the ‘dearest’ part is in solidarity to our ‘dead ancestors’. God rest their precious souls, Ase! Suspect me bawo? Ki n temi? I’m not even here, abi you see me ni? LMAO!

        Like

        Adewoyin Joseph responded:
        May 15, 2014 at 8:39 am

        LOL. Let’s just say we agree.

        Like

Kindly Leave a Reply

