Wishes Upon A Shooting Star

Posted on Updated on

I rarely believe in myths, but it could be fun often times; especially when it doesn’t hurt to try. It was the eve of my birthday and for some reasons unknown I looked up to the sky just when a meteor was having its free fall. It was indeed a cool sight!

As if on auto, I made a wish while the sight lasted (it is said that a wish made at that moment will come true), though I also made fun of myself thereafter for being superstitious. The rest came out while I was alone in my bed and it was a briefly long one.

Here it goes:

I wanna be a billionaire
Buy all the things I never had
Tons beyond McCoy and Bruno’s
They left out a vac’ in Mars
Many times I’ve said things;
“I don’t cherish fame as such”
“I hate attention and gaze upon me”
As cynosure of all eyes
Am I kidding?
No, those were just lies
Yes I want to fly and do it high
To soar and glide past the horizon
Desire burning with passion
Fiercer than the red hot coal I know
The penchant to be celebrated
Much crave to make exploits
Greater than Balboa’s

Transcending materialism
The longing to be the bright beam
Illuminating the gloomy paths
A panacea to the confused
Philanthropist to the needy
Inspiration to the discouraged
With integrity held up high
All these I desire
Call me a dreamer I least care
I aspire to shine beyond mere glimmer
Doing my best to get to the crest
Ora et laboura etched on chest
My direction to greatness obscure
I’m sure the Greatest sees all
On Him I put the rest
Today is a bright day
Tomorrow will be brighter
Brighter and better than a shooting star

Theatre blasting “Jaiye Jaiye” at 85decibels….

Don’t mind the rants.
Just a bit of my randomness.
It’s my birthday.
Wish me well.
God bless Nigeria @ 53.

6 thoughts on “Wishes Upon A Shooting Star

    atinuke said:
    October 3, 2013 at 9:13 am

    Happy birthday Joe. Wishing u all d best things in life. May u continue 2 be a blessing to ur generation. Amen.

    Like

    Yemie said:
    May 15, 2014 at 11:38 am

    *sighs* Oh no, not again! Another belated tiding in the offing I see. Well, you asked to be wished well so here goes: Senor Joe, may all your desires and wishes come to fruition in accordance to the will of the Almighty God and may you celebrate many more glorious years in abundance of great health and prosperity, IJN; Amen. I’m pretty sure you had a great day back then and a greater year yet. The piece is so on point and call me superstitious but I’m totally all for wishing on shooting stars and dropping nickels in wishing wells. You never can tell when your luck might just change or what hand the fates will deal you. So, take a chance always brotherly; it won’t hurt to do so! LOL

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      May 15, 2014 at 2:00 pm

      Belated is just a long thing, the good wishes are the main deal. 🙂

      Amen, amen and amen!!!

      We could arrange some shooting stars for ya though, if you don’t mind. Just get the nickels and wishes ready, I can shoot you some stars down. 😉

      Like

        Yemie said:
        May 15, 2014 at 2:15 pm

        Aww! You see! You’re already on the bandwagon of daydreamers like me. Arranging for and shooting down a shooting star?! That’s new, if only it were that easy! Oh boy, now I’m the one acting all pessimistic! All things are possible to them that believe, right?! What’s more, its those very thoughts that counts the most. So go on ahead Senor, and shoot down some shooting stars for moi, my wishes and nickels are on hand! Welcome to my world, Senor! LMAO!

        Like

        Adewoyin Joseph responded:
        May 15, 2014 at 4:00 pm

        Shebi a star shot down can also be called shooting star?

        Thanks for the welcome, na only me waka come Oo 🙂

        Like

Kindly Leave a Reply

