Quick scribble: Visit the more important things first, religious sites later

Posted on Updated on

It’s been a while since I dropped a piece — rant or otherwise. The blame won’t go to erratic power supply or busyness this time, rather I’ll attribute it to my preparations in the previous weeks and my eventual trip to Israel for erm…what’s it called now…a day with christ for my country — since christ is nowhere to be found within our immediate 923,768 sq km anymore. In case you’re wondering, no, I didn’t go with Bros Jones and his caustic grammar-laden chéri.

I’ll quit playing around and get straight to the point. I bet you didn’t believe that trip to Israel baloney (please don’t)… but you get the point. I’m right here in my PPA sitting in my room with a pot of beans on fire, and the thoughts of many Nigerians translated into sensations driving me to use my fingers to type a brief one.

Of course, prayer is a very good thing; a key element of progress as a matter of fact. However, I believe in another combination which is undoubtedly a better thing: Ora et labora. Yes, work and pray. I believe in miracles, but praying and hoping for one isn’t just expedient on it’s own…unless we work to get there.

Switching to “sunday school teacher” mode…

Brethren, faith without works is what…? Dead! Yes. Thank you.

The wall of Jericho didn’t just go down by mere shouts. The strategic marching for days plus the carrying of ark and trumpets of rams’ horns, and the eventual blowing and shouts went a long way…and it doesn’t sound like easy tasks to me. Does it? It wasn’t just a silent murmur or monument seeing.

Three weeks ago we celebrated marked Nigeria @53 and of the truth, it was the dullest since I was old enough to notice. Do we still need to unwrap the reasons? Nah. Decaying infrastructure, insecurity of life and property, unemployment…and yes, I won’t forget, legendary ASUU strike exudes from the foil already; bricks of our very own wall of Jericho.

There are (at least) two sides to every story. I’d like to believe that our number one citizen is on a mission towards the right course to discharge his duties as appropriate, with the intention of starting with prayers (I like this version). Thus, I’m saying amen to his prayers, wishing him and everyone else a safe trip back, and expectant of a change soonest…

….just as it is expected that my beans should be done by now.

God bless Nigeria.
Your comments are welcome.
Adewoyin Joseph || @Jossef69

2 thoughts on “Quick scribble: Visit the more important things first, religious sites later

    Yemie said:
    June 2, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    With the level of religiosity we practise in this country, you’d expect that we’d have it smooth in all areas of our human life and endeavours. Truth though is that being overly religious does not translate to being spiritual in any form. The grace of God will not abide and abound if we linger on and continue in sin. Righteousness exalts a Nation while sin destroys. Let ’em make a gazillion trips to holy lands and sites, without making straight their crooked paths, all na ‘world tour’ lasan lasan! God’s not mocked and Nigerians are no fools. God help and save Nigeria from we Nigerians ourselves! *sighs*

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      June 2, 2014 at 9:54 pm

      Ironically, our religiousness contradicts the real state of things. We’re all in God’s hands, I’m sure the corrupt will still be caught in the flood even if they locate Noah’s ark and camp in it. God help Nigeria. God bless her people too.

      Thanks.

      Like

Kindly Leave a Reply

