This Feeling

Posted on Updated on

I woke up this morning with an ache
So persistent it makes me shake
An extension of yesterday’s pain
The cause of this I’m aware
But the reason I can least decipher

It’s almost a day of incommunicado
Hours of oath of silence in play between us
I could’ve sworn I heard her voice within
The sweet smell of her perfume lingers
Thrills and shivers in torrents
Endorphins rushing through veins
Relax-in, perhaps
The details I hardly care about
What it’s called is not my worry
Only that I miss her a lot

We’ve been really good friends;
With mutual affection and fondness
Time doesn’t apply to us so long we’re together
Even if it takes risking the precious
Countless moments we dearly savoured
Until that heightened jealousy took over
It was all my fault I think
Her ego maybe

Like the tongue of fire of yore
I began to talk in different languages
No, we both did
Serious attention she craves
Yet unnecessarily unavailable
Chasing her was never a problem
But my man-liness has taken over

Cute, sweet and smart
Those are exactly what she represents
Though inclined to be omni-right
That I detest ‘cuz it ain’t right
Soon I reached my threshold
The point where nothing else would hold
Then it all came down crashing

A day without her was all it took
Memories and moments we’ve shared abound
I feel so alone
It hurts to think she’s without me;
The cause of my aches and pains
I wish I could make things right
I’d scream and say it loud
If that’ll make the pain go away

It’s been several hours without my dear friend
Perhaps she’s dearer to me than I thought

Could this be love?

* * * * *

We rarely value the things we have until we lose them; more reason why differences should be amicably settled to preserve what really matters. Friendship, relationship, courtship — and several other ships — no matter how big are subject to threats: icebergs of peculiarities and differences. They appear little but can wreck havocs. Take a cue from Titanic. Settle them and move on.

Adewoyin Joseph || @Jossef69
Would you like to share this?
It’s just a click away ↓

12 thoughts on “This Feeling

    Arcbod said:
    December 21, 2013 at 9:24 am

    That’s tru. Dude, ¶ think this is what most of us suffer in our daily relationship, lack of understanding and our differences. Learning to tolerate n know for sure he or she is frm a different background cld really help. Thanks Joe.

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      December 21, 2013 at 9:43 am

      Yeah right. Understanding, tolerance and compromise go a long way. Thanks for the comment bruvv.
      Do share please.

      Like

    Jemima said:
    December 21, 2013 at 10:00 am

    Hehehe I think someone has been really knocked down …its good tho but it takes grace and patience and tolerance and trust .Nice write up sir you inspire me

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      December 21, 2013 at 10:18 am

      Hehehehe. See this trending blogger on her birthday º°˚˚°ºoo. Knocked down? Hmmmmn. Ne-yo and Kanye have not given me the right to…except this comment is from Keri Hilson sha 🙂

      Thanks for the comment…and the sweetness. Jemima has been a sound impetus too 😉

      Happy birthday Jemima

      Like

    Adefiranye Razaq's notes said:
    December 21, 2013 at 10:09 am

    Deep thoughts laid bare clearly
    Took me on a stroll down memory hood
    Oh! All my capsized ships
    Wish I could refloat ’em
    Oh my dear ……….
    Oh my dear ……….
    Oh my dear ……….
    My heart craves your comforts
    But life goes on
    Ima hang in there when such occurs again
    Supplying more doses of patience
    And more…
    Oh. This feeling…

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      December 21, 2013 at 10:24 am

      Chai! See Romeo that goes by the name @abdulrazarc 🙂

      Sometimes, somehow and somewhere, someone’s just gon’ come and unleash the poet in somebody 😉

      Your comment is a blog piece on its own *chuckles*
      Thanks bruvv.

      I go love º°˚˚°ºoo!

      Like

    derickcarter said:
    December 31, 2013 at 8:09 am

    I knw who dis is for!!!! Hehehehe *evil grin*😍

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      December 31, 2013 at 8:19 am

      Lol. How you no go know. Beyoncé abi? 😀

      You be original trouble-maker, version 1.0.

      Like

    Yemie said:
    May 14, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    *sniff sniff* Aww, ‘Schweet’! Could this be love he asks?! Unless that’s a rhetorical question then I say absolutely not! Its pure unadulterated hate! Like seriously?! That you had to ask, dude give me a break ! I’ll bet she’s also going through same or worse. You guys should just kiss and make up already, I mean how excruciatingly difficult could that possibly be?! *RME* LOL

    An heartfelt piece! Resonates all too well. Double thumbs up, you ‘brought’ this!

    Like

      Adewoyin Joseph responded:
      May 14, 2014 at 2:33 pm

      LOL. Dude was just a confused one caught in the transformation of friendship to love, mind him not. You probably would’ve told him “goan kiss the geh my friend! Goddammit!” 🙂

      Thanks!

      Like

        Yemie said:
        May 14, 2014 at 2:39 pm

        And friendship to ‘loveship’ is the bestest kinda relationship, I’d say. Not the type where you just launch into straight away. They last longer than any other. LOL

        Like

        Adewoyin Joseph responded:
        May 14, 2014 at 2:50 pm

        Chei! See rhymes! Now I’m feeling like having a ride in cruise ship that’s not cheap!

        Indeed. I concur.

        Merci!

        Like

Kindly Leave a Reply

